Monday, April 25, 2016

Sacred Geometry Part II

Aspects: The Will to Power

Uranus (Fool) Square Pluto (Judgment)

     Let your imagination run away on this blog. Have an “imaginary moment” – a “what if” time. It seems we are overlooking the obvious when talking about both Tarot and Astrology in relation to Sacred Geometry.  What connection do they have and how does this relate to our lives? We’ll discuss an example of the correlation of all three in the context of current events and circumstances.
     To get started, in Astrology with relation to Tarot, let’s take a look at the transiting square that has been going on since 2007 - on through 2020, between Uranus (The Fool) in Aries and Pluto (Judgment) in Capricorn. We will not be looking at this square from a mechanistic point of view as the cause of certain events, but rather as an archetypal pattern of human behavior during these events.

Foolish Plutocrats
     Richard Tarnas in his book Cosmos and Psyche, 2007, discusses “the will to power” during a Pluto-Uranus square. (This same square between planets was present from 1928 to 1937.)

“The eruption of a collective will to power during Uranus-Pluto eras can also become concentrated and embodied in a single powerful figure, a world historic military conqueror or tyrant driven as if by a force of nature…Hitler, Mussolini, Stalin and Mao [were all prominent leaders] during the square of the 1930’s.”  
Dorflinger: Judgment
German-Swiss Border
So when we really look at this aspect we see The Fool in conflict with good Judgment.

Tarot and planetary interpretation
     The Fool is perceived as a vagabond, beggar, an adventurer who sets off for anywhere, “riding the rails,” lacking judgment. This is one who exemplifies guilelessness, lack of tact and naiveté. The Fool lives only in the now. There is no introspection, no looking ahead. We can see fools all over engulfed in silliness, folly, and even stupid behavior (especially in TV ads). On the other hand, a court-type fool can be the wise coyote poking fun at the “king’s” foibles.
     Uranus - signifies rebellion, unpredictability, defiance, the break up of old structures and the establishment. It’s full of  surprises, and unexpected change. In Aries, it could well mean doing battle and more war. (Haven’t we had enough already?) It means a willingness to sacrifice for a cause, martyrdom. The main theme is change and more change whatever form it may take.!
     Judgment - Here we are examining everything and everyone in depth, even criticizing and judging others. (What happened to “throw the first stone”?) In criminal justice, the judge determines who is guilty or not, and assigns punishment. It also means self-evaluation in examining your own life critically and trying to resurrect yourself and take responsibility for your actions through self-knowledge and introspection.  Of course good judgment is the hoped for aim.
     Pluto – We can see underworld characters out in the open. For some it’s a trip to the underworld. For others it’s a release from the underworld. It means the breakdown and destruction of outmoded ways of doing things; uncovering hidden truths and lies; deep secrets are revealed; there could be mass violence, power struggles and predictions of world war; more earthquakes and exploding volcanoes. In Capricorn, this affects governments in crisis and all structures and institutions of power. (Sound familiar?)
 The aspects of the planets and Tarot
     Why are the planets named after old gods and goddesses in mythology of long ago? For some, we are examining qualities and attributes of human behavior signified by the archetypal myths of the ancient gods and applying their meaning to our own lives.
    Astronomy/Astrology and the earliest calculations of an ephemerides originated in Babylon at least from the 6th to the 8th century B.C.E. The Greeks then piled on their own names based on their gods and mythology and imbued them with many layers of meaning. (See Ptolemy)  One of the main components of Astrology in connection with Sacred Geometry is the symbolic action of the aspects between planets and their positions as they move around the Zodiac. These aspects are angles known as square, trine, sextile, semi-sextile, quintile, quincunx, opposition and conjunction, as measured within a Zodiac circle of 360°.

Square 90° - interpreted as conflict, difference of opinion, argument, scuffle, strength to endure

Trine 120° - synthesis, coming together, resolution, problem solving, agreement

Sextile 60° -  making adjustments, coordination, harmony, common ground 

Quintile 72° - attraction, repulsion, caution, a new direction

Opposition 180°- opposing forces, duality, pulling apart, obstructions, non-agreement

Conjunction 0-10° - moving in tandem, mutual agreement, close association

The Fool Niki St Phalle Tarot Garden
     What are the planets and their association with the Major Arcana of Tarot?  Mary Greer, in her workbook, Tarot for yourself, Birth chart Mandala, gives a list of correspondences between the planets, the Zodiac, and Major Arcana as follows:

Mercury  - Magician
Venus – The Empress                    
Mars – The Tower
Jupiter – Wheel of Fortune
Saturn – The Universe
Uranus – The Fool
Neptune – The Hanged man
Pluto – Judgment
Sun – Sun
Moon – High priestess

If at one time the Major Arcana represented actual set figures in society, in the 20th Century, they have come to represent the inner processes of the self, though the Tarot has been cheapened as a fortune telling device – a quick fix to supposed knowledge of impending events or the scary thrill of mysterious messages—it has at the same time grown in stature as a coded body of wisdom…The images present stages of psychic transformation.”

Jill Johnston, frontispiece of the book Niki Saint Phalle and the Tarot Garden (Bentelli, Zurich,  2010).